fingerprint problem in Fla

fshfindr

So I live in NJ. I could not get the local police to take my fingerprints, they said the state won’t let them do it for a gun related activity. I want a carry permit. So I hopped on a plane and flew to Florida to apply for a Florida carry permit. Everything went well I thought, I was only in the Dept. of Agriculture for about 20 minutes. A nice lady checked my paperwork (I'm a vet), she filled out the forms for me, took my fingerprints and picture and told me to go home and I would hear back in about 2 weeks. She was right, It is now 2 weeks later and I just got a notice (E Mail and postal) that my fingerprints were are, "not sufficiently legible". So now I am in the same situation as before, my state will not do the prints for me and I don't want to fly back to Florida for fingerprints. The prints must be done by a police dept. and they want them sent electronically. So any suggestions on what I should do.

FITASC

Did they say why they weren't legible? Have you had something (like an injury) that made them that way?

What about a PA permit?

rebs

I would question the legality of the state not allowing the police to take your finger prints for a gun permit. Seems like a constitutional violation of your rights. A way for them to block you from getting a permit. Another back door approach to denying your gun rights.

carguychris

rebs said:
I would question the legality of the state not allowing the police to take your finger prints for a gun permit. Seems like a constitutional violation of your rights. A way for them to block you from getting a permit. Another back door approach to denying your gun rights.
Given that one's constitutional right to carry a concealed pistol has not been firmly affirmed by the courts, perhaps you're putting the cart before the horse.

If you wish to discuss this further, I suggest starting a thread in the L&CR subforum.

PolarFBear

Coroner