Female Troubles

Kathryn

I am getting tired of gun store clerks
who ask insulting questions!!! :mad:

"Why isn't your husband here with you?" Why don't you mind your own ##$(*& business?

"Why don't you try a different brand of ammo?" This was today's unsolicited friendly advice regarding my defective Ruger that had just been FIXED by the company. The clerk, BTW, swiped me twice while he was playing with my gun, and never checked to see if it was loaded.

I'm getting to the point where there are no nearby gun shops that I care to return to. I am a relative newbie, but would prefer to get advice when I ask for it. And don't ask me about my husband! Maybe I'm arming up to defend myself. Or I'm tired of him. YOU WILL NEVER KNOW!

Oleg Volk

Staff Alumnus
I have noticed this attitude when I first got interested in guns. Guess what? Over the last five years, the two stores owned by misogynist pigs closed. Of the other stores, the one that had rude, sexist employees replaced them with better people. That place, btw, also has several female employees...but if a woman comes in, she isn't told to go talk to them. It is assumed that any employee can help her with what is really a technical, non-gender-specific field.

The situation has improved considerably and I no longer see clerks saying "M'am, you ought to get this cute little .25 here, that way it would go with your lipstick color." They do offer help to everyone in the same manner.

The Web has also spawned a number of sites ran by women that is gratifying to see. I bet a number of predators won't live to see retirement except at the muzzle of a .45

------------------
Oleg "cornered rat" Volk (JPFO,NRA)

http://dd-b.net/RKBA

Oleg Volk

Staff Alumnus
As an aside, Michelle's (my GF) experience with gun stores mirrored my perception of improvement. However, all the liberal-bashing on TFL turned her off, badly.

------------------
Oleg "cornered rat" Volk (JPFO,NRA)

http://dd-b.net/RKBA

Coinneach

Staff Alumnus