Feasibility of a swappable barrel rifle

dakota.potts

As you can see, I'm a student of gunsmithing at Piedmont Technical College and I like to work on gun projects outside of school also.

One thing I've thought of doing that would be really cool is a rifle that can take advantage of the cheap 7.62x39 ammo that I have, and maybe one that can use the same bolt to replace it with a 6.5mm barrel and shoot 6.5 Grendel ammo. Pipe dream? I don't know.

We have access to a machine shop and we'll be using it to ream our chamber blanks for the .30-06 project guns we're making.

What's the feasibility of converting a factory rifle to something that can feed these cartridges and swap out barrels without requiring torque wrenches, headspacing, and other headaches every time you want to change them out?

My first thought is a Mini-mauser type action, probably something like the Zastava since the CZ 527 (which I'd love to have anyways) is more expensive. I assume these barrels are threaded into the receiver, which makes me think an adapter could be formed to go into the threads where the two barrels could be cut to lock into the same position every time (after being headspaced properly) and held into place with an external nut and a wrench.

My other thought is something like the H&R Handi-Rifle which is designed to have barrels that can be changed. Barrels would most likely have to be made or converted for this, though, and I really think the bolt action would be the more interesting and useful of the two.

What do you think?

dakota.potts

I may look into the Savage system. I was really looking for a mini-length action for the low weight. Maybe something based on their .223 line. Would probably involve modifications to both the bolt face and the magazine, which may not be a bad thing.