Father to Son under 21?

golf97

Can my father legally give me a pistol if I'm only 20? I'm in WA, and also in the Army National Guard if that makes a difference. The pistol was something I wanted and had to have him buy for me... we can just say i'm holding and shooting it for him if that makes anyone feel any better. Its just that I shoot M9s on a regular basis, I don't see why I can't own my own pistol. Someone who sounds like they knew what they were talking about said that ATF had a form where he could just gift it to me, and it'd be under my name. I couldn't carry it obviously, but I could and transport it to and from ranges. Please let me know, and tia,
Bryan.

FAL-schutter

Based on RCW 9.41.240, I'd say yes, you can own one, but by the looks of it, you can't transport it, including to the range. Perhaps if someone over 21 transported it for you and "supervised" you while you shot?

But I am not a lawyer, so don't take my word for anything. Might I suggest you ask your local police or sheriff's department? I've found mine to be quite helpful.

Mark P.

Short answer, no. You can fire it under his supervision, but he must carry it and it must be in his possession at all times and you may only shoot it in his presence. You may not legally own, carry, possess, or take possession of a handgun under the age of 21, which includes gifts, hand me downs, or anything left to you in a will. Your parent, legal guardian (if under 18) or someone under 21 must take possession of such a weapon until you turn 21.

MEDDAC19

You may legally own a handgun at age 18. Licensed dealers may only sell long guns to 18 year olds and handguns at 21. There is no problem with your father giving you the pistol. You won't be able to get a CC permit until you are 21, but you sure can own one, and shoot it all you would like.