Eotech Co-witness

imp

I'm building my newest AR, a 16" mid length flat-top. I've always been a fan of iron sights, but I've been wanting to mount an EoTech on something, so I decided to build a new AR to put it on.

The upper I'm getting (Del-Ton) comes with a flip up YHM front sight, and I intend on putting a GG&G flip up rear on it as well.

But, since I have no experience with Eotechs, or any other HWS for that matter, I want to make sure they flip up iron sights co-witness perfectly with the eotech. That being said, what do I need to make this happen, or will it happen on its own?

I looked at all these mounts from larue and ARMS, which I would like to have the ARMS #40, but I'm afraid it will jack the eotech up half an inch and mess up the sight picture.

Someone help me out.

thetoecutter

http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=278306&highlight=eotech

The way the Eotech "works", if the reticle and the irons are sighted to the same location in space, the reticle is going to pretty much line up with the irons regardless of how "tall" it is.

Tried to illustrate that with the pictures somewhat.

As you move your head/eye around, the reticle moves in the window, but stays sighted at the same position downrange.

What the height of the Eotech mounting affects is where the irons will be in the sighting window.

"Short" Eotech, no spacer/mount the irons will be pretty much centered. "Tall" Eotech, or a short one with some sort of intermediate mount, they will be in the lower portion of the window.

I went with a "tall" one to put my non-folding irons in the lower portion of the window without having to purchase a mount.

I really like the buttons on the side (516, 556, 557) rather than the rear.

Hope this helps;

TTC

Creature

I found that my EoTech 511.A65 co-witnissed to my bushy's front sight and a YH flip-up rearsight without any adjustment.

Jamie Young