Enfield P-17 Questions

scorpion_tyr

Noticed an ad in the local paper for a "P-17 Enfield 300 H&H $400"

I'm very new to rifles and had a few questions.

Is the "P-17" the same thing as the M1917?

Were they orifinally offered in .300 H&H or is this some type of modification?

Can I get .300 H&H factory ammo?

Condition of the rifle is unknown, but does this sound like a good deal?

If the rifle is not in working condition are parts readily available for these?

Anyone know of any special interest items such as parts, markings, etc to look for if I take a look at it?

Thanks!

Last edited:

kiwi56

Enfields

They are the same rifle although officially there was no such thing as a P17
The rifle was basically the same as the British Pattern 17 or what is commonly referred to as the P14. The American version of this rifle was introduced from day one as the Enfield Model 17.
The british rifle was chambered in 303 British where the American rifle was chambered in 30-06. the P14/P17 actions were based on a Mauser style actions and proved to one of the strongest actions for its time. During the 1950's and 1960's a lot of these rifles were used in highpower rifle competition and chambered in a variety of calibers including magnum sized cartridges. The P14 probably set more accuracy records than the Lee Enfield as it was the popular choice of target shooters.

Jimro

Noticed an ad in the local paper for a "P-17 Enfield 300 H&H $400"

I'm very new to rifles and had a few questions.

Is the "P-17" the same thing as the M1917?

Yes.

Were they orifinally offered in .300 H&H or is this some type of modification?

Modification.

Can I get .300 H&H factory ammo?

Yes. From South Africa.

Condition of the rifle is unknown, but does this sound like a good deal?

If the rifle is not in working condition are parts readily available for these?

Anyone know of any special interest items such as parts, markings, etc to look for if I take a look at it?

Thanks!