ENCO Press????

Ideal Tool

Hello, Roger. If you look in Phil Sharpes Complete Guide To Handloading, you will see quite a few examples of arbor type press reloading tools. Of course, they are not as crude as the one on flea bay. Harvey Donaldson who was a patternmaker by trade, made up an arbor type press which he did all his handloading and cartridge development on. The first commercial jacketed bullet makers..Swift, and RCBS did in fact use large arbor presses with hand made bullet forming dies to turn out their products.

Roger Ronas

Thanks IT,
I guess at 53 yo I'm still a youngin to realize that that was done back then.

But I think this add was to try and extract more money for the press by stating that it was for reloading. Nothing wrong with an arbor press but in this day, it has very little use for reloading.

Roger

hoghunting

Nothing wrong with an arbor press but in this day, it has very little use for reloading.

Flip through a Sinclair catalog and look at the Wilson arbor press and hand dies. Most bench rest shooters that I know, use them.

F. Guffey

Avoid that press, Google Enco, the press pictured is an import and not expensive, I have arbor presses, one is a Dake, there is nothing about the Dake arbor press that is reloading, but with heavy duty sizing and forming it works, shell holders that bolt to a press made by C&H and fit their 4 position press fit the arbor, upside down, when cranking down on the handle us a good lube or be prepared to drive the case out of the die or the barrel.

The larger arbor press has enough clearance for a strain gage, this means it has a purpose for a very few, the arbor press when used with a strain gage will inform the user of the amount of weight required to size a case. As I said that means nothing to most.

In my opinion the press listed is not worth the cost of shipping

F. Guffey

F. Guffey

"Where do the dies screw in?"