eBay 6 in 1 tool as a cartridge lathe

Kilroy08

I started having a hankering for a small, table top lathe to modify cartridges to reload other calibers.

I figured this would be the easiest way to modify rims, extractor grooves, turn necks, etc.

Has anybody heard anything about this little gizmo?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-6-In1-Tools-Classic-Wood-Metal-Lathe-Milling-Machine-Jig-saw-Driller-Grinder-/151089656661?pt=BI_Tool_Work_Holding&hash=item232d a53355
It appears to be a 6 in 1 erector set ish mini machining set up.

I figured what I would need was something a machinist would give his kid for Christmas, then promptly abscond with it as it was too much fun to screw around with. The Easy Bake Oven of machine tools, if you will.

This looks like it.

L2R

crap shoot

guessing this would do what you want is probably slim.
But then, no one will know for sure until someone tries.

I am a machinist and this concept really makes me want to buy one to copy it but with more robust materials.

I say it is probably not going to work as a safe guard.
Things must be rigid and repeatable and somewhat straight and centered.
This makes no guarantee on any of these claims.

I strongly suspect it will struggle on wood and brass would be well beyond it's ability once much less 1000s of time.

If someone has 200 bucks to blow, let us all know. :D

Don't have one myself

Keep it immaculate. Most of it is plastic and if metal chips get imbedded into it, your accuracy goes (runout increases).

iraiam

I don't think it will be like you hope it will. I had a similar cheezy setup and gave it away and bought an actual lathe and mill.

I have tried numerous approaches to speeding up my brass trimming, I have a small machine shop in my basement and have tinkered with several devices that go in my lathe or mill to speed the process up.

In the end I finally realized that just sitting down and trimming it was the fastest, all the other methods on my mill or lathe just made it slower.