Dry-firing vs. 22LR at the range

Ichiro

I am very new to shooting. However, I do have a little bit of experience, and I want to buy a revolver (or a few) and become familiar with handling, maintaining, and shooting them. In particular, I am pondering a dual-purchase of a .22 revolver as a training piece, to go along with a .357/.38 revolver for home defense and possibly carry.

I've read about the benefits of owning and using a .22 revolver for training and general range-fun purposes, especially given the insanely low price of .22 ammo, but I would like some opinions about the real usefulness of a .22 handgun for training.

As I understand it, a .22 will allow me to improve my basic skills, such as sight-picture acquisition, trigger control, and DA firing, without the distraction of recoil and muzzle blast, and without having to buy a lot of expensive ammo. But, can't I practice these skills even more cheaply by dry-firing the .357 that I'm going to buy anyway?

I have some practice with a S&W 617 and a Ruger MKII. I found both of these guns extremely easy to shoot and hit bullseye at self-defense distances. I also fired a Kahr 9mm, which I shot consistently slightly low and to the left.

Since I can already shoot straight with a 22, and I am not satisfied with my ability to shoot centerfire, it seems to me that the $500 or so that I would spend on a S&W .22 would be better invested in more range time/ammo with centerfire ammo, combined with disciplined dry-fire practice.

I'd rather not fork over big money for a gun that I can do without, but I also don't want to miss out on a great training tool. Is dry-fire a decent substitute for firing a .22?

~Ichiro

CarbineCaleb

Ichiro: Different people will definitely give you different answers on this. While dry firing is definitely useful, convenient and cost free training, it is not the same as actual shooting.