Drawing magazine

James K

Member In Memoriam
I got a freebie subscription to G&A Handguns, a magazine I never ordinarily read. There is never much of interest, but one article described reloading of an auto pistol by quickly reaching for the spare mag and reloading when the gun is empty. Not a bad article, but one question.

I don't have the vast combat experience of the gun writers, who engage in dozens of gun fights a day with hundreds of drug dealers, rampaging terrorists, and assorted BG's. But I kind of wonder why anyone, knowing his pistol is running dry, would wait until the gun is empty and locked back before reaching for the spare mag.

Wouldn't it make more sense to pull out the extra mag at some point before the gun runs empty and have it in the off hand, ready to reload if need be?

Thoughts?

Jim

Tamara

Moderator Emeritus
Not having been a Clandestine Black Ops Warrior myself, I would guess that it's because both hands are on the gun, you're not really counting rounds when someone's shooting at you, and your first indication that the mag might be running low is the slide locking back.

KSFreeman

In olden days when dinosaurs roamed the earf and wore orange and brown, there was a certain skul that I remember that used to receive a lot of cases of beer for such an horrorific infraction of not counting your rounds. The problem is that most of us do not have the intense training of the Selous Scouts that all the people I meet in the gunshop have and have trouble counting rounds when running, jumping, shouting, opening doors, ducking and, maybe, shooting.

However, as the former ramrod of that skul so wisely sez, having an empty gun is part of fighting. Get it reloaded, ochen bistro.

Jim, are you describing a tac reload?

Justin

My understanding was that once there is a lull where you have enough time to reload, you should reload wether your gun is empty or not.

Not that I'm any sort of expert, because I'm not. But that's just what I've heard.

James K