Don't carry around me.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Willie Lowman

I am not directing that title line at any of you (I don't think), but some people I know. Some inlaws in particular...

Now I am a pro gun guy and I am all for CC. My issue is that there are some folks who are really unsafe with a gun and giving them the ability to carry one around with them is an accident waiting to happen.

One of these people I am ranting about can tell you exactly how many rounds has been fired through each gun in his collection. I don't think any of them has reached 100 yet. Needless to say my cylinder bore 590 keeps a tighter group at 10 yards than he does with his USP. Put him in a high stress situation and there will be JHPs hitting everything in the township but his target.

Another was walking in the woods recently and came very close to shooting either her own foot or the dog. She said that at first she thought someone was shooting at her... Yeah, someone was shooting at her, it was herself.

It seems to me that the Ohio CCH needs some stricter requirements than sitting in a class for 10 hours and slowfire shooting at some paper plates that are close enough to spit on.

I am sure that you know people like this. It isn't an issue of self defense, it is carelessness. Add a CCH permit and now it is carelessness on the road, in the store, at the dinner.

--rant off.

Enoy21

Have you tried approaching them to invite them to shoot with you ? Give them some tips and friendly reminders of the dangers and how to handle their firearms ?

Perhaps some family competition at target shooting will improve accuracy.

NavyLT

It seems to me that the Ohio CCH needs some stricter requirements than sitting in a class for 10 hours and slowfire shooting at some paper plates that are close enough to spit on.