Do You Get Excited?

lon371

Do you still get excited when you see you game?

I have been hunting off and on since I was 13 years old. I have only hunted Deer for about the last 13 years. We live in the country, see deer frequently. I get a little excited and slow the car down every time. When hunting deer, if I get to see a deer even a doe way out of range my heart starts racing. If I have to watch it come into range, by the time it is there my breathing and heart rate is crazy. I hope I am wrong, but I will probably be one of those guys you here of having a Heart issue while hunting. Fortunately I hunt with people, and wife ALWAYS knows where I am and when I plan to be home.

Maybe it is just me. My kids get excited, but not to the extent of myself.

Be honest, I know you all are not calm cool and colective everytime.:cool:

Lonny

12GaugeShuggoth

but I will probably be one of those guys you here of having a Heart issue while hunting.

Sounds like a good way to go to me :) For me the excitement isn't so much about seeing "game" or "potential kill" .....I just enjoy being outdoors and watching nature. I get the same excitement whether I'm hunting or just watching. In my opinion anyone who claims to always be stone cold calm is either lying or hasn't been hunting very long ;)

lt dan

aint that the truth, and it is fun teaching the young ones about the difference in apearance of the sexes as well as maturity. this way they can see what the fuss is all about when dad starts talking about the outdoors.

Byron Quick

Staff In Memoriam
Heart pounding? Takes a real good buck nowadays.

Great enjoyment? Always. Even seeing wildlife I'm not hunting. Had a Great Horned owl perch on a limb three feet in front of my stand one morning before dawn. Great day. Didn't see a deer.

Another morning I watched a half grown bobcat kitten trying to catch its tail.

Another great day.