Dixon's Muzzleloading?

Ed Dixon

Anyone familiar with Dixon's Muzzleloading in Kempton, PA? Renowned as the most extensive BP stop east of the Mississippi and a great place to just visit. Despite my last name, I'm no relation and get no discount, but the owners are more than fair and more than generous with their time and experience. Some folks make a vacation of coming in for the gunmakers fair every July. Any other recommendations worth a trip?

Doesn't Dixon hold an annual Gunbuilders' Fair where all the big names gets together and hold seminars and show their ware? From what I've been told, it's well worth attending but for the Waste (West) Coast kid, it's a long walk.

Wildwilley

Big Names

I don't want to toot my own horn... That's a pun...
But my family and I have been attending the Gunmakers Fair since 1993.
I'm proud to say that I have taken top awards in the powder horn, punch & horn, and accoutrement catagories since then.
It's not just for shooters or gun builders.
There are some hundred or so venders there from bead merchants to artists. Heck, they even have an antique shop there. (The bulk of the merchants are parts suppliers and gun builders.)
You can buy your favorite artists limited edition print, parts for your flintlock, a powder horn, a custom cart for your cowboy action plunder, any accoutrement for your matchlock upto a spare bolt for your A303.
The gun shop is there all year but the fair takes place the last week in July.
My whole family attends every year. It's half way between their homes and mine so we infest a local Inn and just have a heck of a good time. I have made friends their that I will have till I die.
For the ladies, Reading is 45 minutes away, (outlet malls), Pinnicle Ridge Winery,(Cayuga white-great stuff), Halk Mtn., hundreds of hiking and biking trails, plenty of camp grounds for those who like ruffin' it and plenty of great small resteraunts that sell that good Pa Dutch cookin'.