Dang scale

CrustyFN

I have a Pact BBKII digital scale I have been using for five years and it has been a good scale. Well I went down to do some reloading tonight and the scale won't zero. I guess I'll stop on the way home tomorrow and see what a RCBS beam scale cost local.

Daggitt

I like my Frankford Arsenal digital scale but I use the balance beam scale to double check periodically.

Last edited:

CrustyFN

Well I just went down to plug it in to try to reset it and it's working fine now. Thanks for the link rg1 if I have any more problems I will try that.

1Hobie

I bought a set of check weights from RCBS and periodically check the calibration of my Dillon scale. As with everything to do in re-loading, accuracy and repeatability are critical.
The weights add piece of mind.
Regards,
Hobie

hounddawg

I have pretty much gave up on the electronics. They only last a year or so for me then readings get screwy. I have a RCBS 750 that I can leave on 24 hours and by the time I weigh out 50 charges can dump the charge from the first case back on the scale and it will read .2 or .3 grains different than when I put it in the case an hour before.

amamnn

Keeping static electricity under control on your bench will help you to avoid a repeat of the problem. Also, a line filter can keep power spikes from doing the same thing. Power spikes can happen without you even knowing it--someone running a vacuum cleaner or even a fan at the other end of the house can do it if the circuits are right and the motor is noisy, electrically. You don't necessarily have to see sparks flying from your fingers when petting the dog to be having static problems in the house. The PACT reset procedure is something worth reading and writing down. It works on both their scales.