Cz 85

Polinese

Just picked up a used CZ 85 for a lil over four hundred at a local shop. I actually wanted a 75 or 85 when I started shopping but no one had any and those that did were asking more than what I had budgeted. Anyone else have a 75 or 85. Mine came with hogue grips which I think i'll change out for something a little slimmer. The only thing I don't like is the magazines don't drop free but I can learn to deal with it.

Walt Sherrill

I have an 85 Combat. An 85B (or an 85) is exactly the same gun as the 75B (or 75), except that it has ambidextrous controls (slide release and safety.) The 85 Combat is similar, but doesn't have the firing pin block, has a over-travel adjustment on the trigger, extended mag release, adjusted mag brake that lets mags drop free, and adjustable sights.

Try getting a set of factory soft rubber grips. They look exactly like the hard plastic grips, but fit many hands better than the Hogue grips. (I found the Hogues forced my hands upwards into the trigger guard uncomfortably.)

You can take the grips off, pull out the pin at the top of the magazine brake, and bend the brake a bit so that it rubs more against the mainspring (hammer spring), and reinstall the pin. You don't have to bend it much, and it should allow the mags to drop free. You can also order a flat mag brake plate from CZ-USA.

Consider joining the CZ Forum. http://www.czfirearms.us

Polinese

Ah thanks for the info. I wont be carrying it concealed but any suggestions for more of a duty style holster for it? One that hangs a lil lower as to not interfere with a vest in case i use it for carbine/pistol classes?

Turns out its an older 85, not a B variant, which just makes the shape its in more impressive, couple tiny scratches, all the serial numbers match.

chris in va

I see a few people using the Blade Tech dropped and offset holster to good effect in our local matches.

And ditto about the mag brake, super easy to flatten out. Get a 15# hammer spring too.