CZ-75 Kadet good choice?

rbuck82

Hello, all. This is my first post - hopefully the first of many.

While I am not new to guns, I have little experience with handguns, because I'm not yet 21. But that problem will soon be resolved, and that's why I'm starting to look at them.

I want to get started on the right foot, and I figure since everyone needs a good .22 for training/plinking and the ammo is so cheap (college student budget here), I'll start with that.

I like the look of the Walther P22. I held it and it is kind of small for my hand, but tolerable. It sure is a neat little gun, but I've read enough bad things about it to make me leery. What does everyone think? I would like to think Walther has been ironing out the problems with it, but when I asked the guys at the range, they said they didn't even know there were any.

Anyway, by some twist of fate, I stumbled on the CZ Kadet. I've found a handful of negative comments on it, and tons and tons of raves. The price is kind of high, but I'll spring for it if it's worth it. As far as size, weight and function, it's the same gun as the 9mm, which would be great for practice.

(Just a note, when I say CZ Kadet, I mean the dedicated one. If I had the money, I'd buy the 9mm and get the conversion kit. But, since I can't afford that, I want to stick to the .22 only version.)

I don't like the looks of the Rugers, Buckmarks or Neos. Although I'm sure they're great guns with great reputations, I think you have to like how your gun looks (even if it's a .22) if you're going to sink a good deal of money into it. I like the .22 models that look like regular autoloaders.

I'll definitely try out all the possibilities, but any guidance would be a big help in my decision. Am I on the right track? Is there another gun out there I should consider? Thanks for your input.

Bandit