Curious about mark-up prices

gbclarkson

The back story:

I purchased a Bersa BP9cc for $400 ~2 years ago. That LGS price was comparable to Buds and CTD prices at that time. Now, after it returns from its 3rd voyage to a warranty center, I want it gone. They are listed for $250ish now.

What are typical gun mark-up prices? Was the Bersa drastically over-priced 2 years ago or are they being dumped at get-rid-of prices in the present day? What other guns have nearly halved in price after two years?

My questions are a curiosity to mask my frustration.

I look forward to others' insights and stories.

rickyrick

I’ve never sold guns but some places I’ve worked have 100%-150% markup.

In the days before scanners, the price sticker had a cryptic number above the price... that was the price the retailer paid for it. That way the manager knew how far to discount if there was a problem.

I was a mechanic, and parts have a considerable markup over what the shop paid for them.

Lots of guns are selling for cheaper than just a few years ag. The market is flooded with guns.

KyJim

I purchased a Bersa BP9cc for $400 ~2 years ago.
That would have put your purchase sometime around the 2016 presidential election. Many thought Hillary Clinton would win and this would adversely affect gun rights. This, in turn, led to increased demand and higher prices for firearms. Prices then went down after Trump won. The price of AR-style rifles seems to have risen and fallen even more than handguns.

TJB101

Buyers market right now. I just purchased a new to me Sig227 on Tuesday. Great price but I was contemplating trading in my relatively new CZ75 Omega. Dealer offered me 225 in trade in ... 225 ... are you kidding me.

Kept the CZ and will wait till next year when Nancy and Chuck do their thing that may drive the market again.

FITASC

Dealer mark-ups are typically about 20%, maybe more for folks like BASS who over price everything above MSRP.