Curious about Lee Handloader...from a complete noob

Corona

And what I need to get started reloading 38 special.

I've been saving 38 spl brass, mostly Speer Lawman and Winchester, that I've been firing through a S&W model 10-5. I'm intrigued with Lee's Handloader but would be curious to know what else I'd have to add to it to start some very basic reloading. I don't imaging I'd be reloading any more than 100 at a time. This is basically for range shooting.

Maybe I'm being naive about a really inexpensive setup. I'd sure appreciate your thoughts. Thanks in advance.

amathis

Many folks on this forum have loaded thousands of rounds with the Lee Handloader. It's a good tool especially if you are dealing with limited space.

If you ever think you may load a wider variety of calibers, you may want to look at a single stage press. You can find them on craigslist for cheap.

All in all, the Lee Handloader is an excellent way to get started!

SL1

About all you would need in addition to the Lee Handloader kit is a PLASTIC mallet to drive cases in and out of the die. Using a steel hammer will eventually distort the cases and the tool's surfaces.

I started with one of those, loading mid-range .38 Special loads to shoot in a .357 Magnum revolver. So, there was no worry about "working-up" loads with small, well known increments in charge weight. The powder dipper that came with the Lee kit was fine; I just had to make sure that I used it with the powders that would produce appropriate pressures. Later, I added (and made my own) additional dippers. But, the first thing that I added was a beam-balance "scale" so that I could work-up to more powerful loads.

Perhaps the worst aspect of the Lee Handloader kit is the difficulty in crimping bullets really consistently. A single-stage press and a simple case trimmer were my next additions (along with a set of carbide dies) to address that issue.