Cross eye dominant - scope question

robertsig

I'm a noobie in two things and want to fix both at the same time, if I can.

I've been shooting handguns for about 10 years and bought my first rifle, a Marlin 336 in 30-30. I've known I was cross dominant (right handed, left eye) for a few years, but put off doing anything about it since it hasn't been a hindrance to handgun shooting.

Now when I try to sight my Marlin, I realize how much of a pain it is and I curse Mother nature.

Being a casual handgun guy and a non-hunter, I know nothing whatsoever about scopes, red dots, etc. So my question is: Is there a scope (or equivalent) that I can buy which will alleviate the need to use iron sights and allow me to keep both eyes open by looking at a "dot" on my target through the optic device?

I realize learning to shoot with both eyes open is preferable, but I must have it really because all I get is blur when I try to do that. I'm not even sure how I would start to train myself to compensate wasting hundreds of rounds (and dollars!) for something which I am going to rarely shoot much.

If this becomes a real problem, I may only buy one or two more rifles in my life, assuming an optical "crutch" is available for them all. I've been eyeing (pun intended) a Vz.58 as well.

TNT

I have cross domination and I have become a better shooter because of it IMO I have adapted to many things practice, practice, practice and muscle memory will take over eventually all up to the individual

Doyle

Long ago, I forgot about trying the "both eyes open" thing. I've learned to semi-squint my left (dominant) eye slightly just before the shot and that eliminates the dominance problem.

4EVERM-14