Cross Dominant

Brian Pfleuger

Moderator Emeritus
For an example...

When I learned to shoot skeet the "instructor" insisted that you can't shoot well unless both eyes are open. So I shot his way for about 6 weeks and never shot better than 9 of 25. About week seven I started shooting the way I shoot every other gun I own, left eye closed, and I was averaging 18-20 in about 3 weeks.

wjkuleck

I'm right hand and "left-eyed", any suggestions on shooting a handgun?

So am I.

Front sight, press.

DSC04576.JPG

(That's I, closest to the camera.)

Regards,

Walt

AZAK

Same boat

I find that after shooting for years that it is just natural to focus with my left eye. Never have had any problems. With a scope I use my right.

You could try shooting leftsie. Don't know if that would help. I can shoot with my left hand, but prefer my right. Either way, the eyes...

Like above:
"Front sight..."

Dwight55

Pete, . . . it may not work for you, . . . or you may not have time to devote to it, . . . but if you have the time it may work for you.

Take a pair of your glasses (use clear shooting glasses if you don't wear lenses), . . . and put several layers of colored celophane on the left lens, . . . enough that it makes it difficult for you to focus with your left eye.

You may begin to rely on your right eye while doing this, . . . and this is the desired result.

Do this while dry firing, . . . unholstering, . . . sweeping the perimeter, . . . all the things you normally do with your handgun.

As you notice yourself becoming more reliant on the right eye, . . . peel off the layers of celophane until you get to the clear lens. Then take the glasses off and you will find you are shooting right hand, right eye, and best of all, . . . you are shooting with both eyes open: a definite advantage when shooting skills are needed to save your bacon.