Crimp question

passtime

Hello all. I ordinarily load lead bullets in all my handguns. I decided to try some Speer 158gr. Gold dots / Deep curl bullets in my 4" GP100. As I said I usually use lead so my dies are set up to do a roll crimp. I use the Redding Profile Crimp Die. It does a nice roll crimp. The lead bullets I load have a crimp groove to accept the roll crimp. These Gold Dots have a canulure instead of a crimp groove. I have no experience with canulure type bullets. I am guessing it needs a taper crimp. It seems to me that a roll crimp might destroy the jacket. If it does indeed need a taper crimp will the Redding Profile Crimp Die do the trick? I have done some research on these questions but as usual the answers come out about 50/50 either way. Roll crimp, no taper crimp. Redding crimp die will do a taper crimp. No/ it is designed to do a roll crimp. I went to Speer and the Redding website and could not get a clear answer there either. That is how I ended up here. A few years ago when I started loading I got a lot of good advice here. Suggestions/guidance would be appreciated. Thanks!

mehavey

No, just do a medium roll into the cannelure.
That's what the indent is there for.

Standard crimp is perfectly fine, but Redding profile is even gooder. ;)
It does both a slight taper and then roll.

passtime

Thank you kindly for the info. I thought I remembered something about the Redding Profile Crimp die doing a hybrid / specialized crimp when I was researching it before I bought it. Thanks again and take care.

mikld

Yep, Mehavey is right. You'll just need to use a little less crimp with a cannalure than a crimp groove as you'll be moving a bit less case metal into a shallower groove (cannalure). BTW, I've used a Redding Profile Crimp Die for my .357 Magnums and .44 Magnums for many years (20+?). Great tool...

passtime