Correlating Jacketed recipes to Plated bullets

hgmeyer

So, can I use “jacketed” recipes for plated bullets? Why do I ask (now)? Someone gave me a few hundred 125gr plated Berrys bullets for .38 Special. And, I could not locate a specific load recipe for 125 gr Berry’s Bullets on AmmoGuide.com . (I know it is not the only place to look) And, it got thinking, went to Berry’s website.
I have been reloading since the 1960s (Certified Geezer, with card carrying proof). I have very successful practice loads in .38, .40 and .45 acp using plated bullets in 158, 180 and 230 grains, respectively. As near as I can tell from my notes/records I started using plated bullets 6 years ago. Unfortunately I can’t find a reference as to where the recipes were adapted from. Memory tells me that I should use “lead” recipes if I cannot find an exact recipe for the plated bullet I am loading.
HOWEVER! My geezer qualified memory is/may be wrong!
From Berry’s website:
“Please consult load data books or your powder manufacturers' website for load information. You can use any published data as long as it is the same weight (FMJ, Lead, Plated, etc.)
-Standard Plate Bullets max velocity- 1,250 fps.
-Thick Plate Bullets (TP) max velocity- 1,500 fps.
For SAAMI MAX COL specs or OAL of the bullet please click HERE.”

I was operating under a memory that my loads were formulated from either “plated” or “lead” recipes, but not for “jacketed” (limiting velocity). But, surprisingly (LOL) my memory is apparently (much to my stunning amazement) wrong (and why we do this very carefully always consulting load manuals, etc.).

Hence, my question/discussion topic. Keeping velocity maximums in mind, is “weight” the only qualifier for a recipe for plated bullets? I don’t treat “jacketed” or “lead” recipes the same way, just correlating to weight.

gwpercle