Considering the 6mm ARC

Django11

I’m considering getting the 6mm arc with a 20” barrel in the AR 15 platform. My intended use is for coyotes as well as a deer rifle for distances not much farther than 100 yards. I was considering the 6.5 grendel, but this round seems like it may be a better choice.

Since I have no experience with this round, I’m looking to hear about any experience, knowledge or thoughts of the round. Any cons or shortcomings? Thanks in advance.

Double K

I've been waiting for uppers to come out in 16" or 18" in a regular profile myself, looks like it might be a great coyote round with 87gr. V-maxes.

ed308

At the distances you're hunting, I go with the 6.8 SPCII. Very lethal and light weight in a short barrel AR. 16" barrel is all you need. But you could go even shorter. I don't like a 20" barrel for hunting. The 6.5 Grendel is also good at that distance in a short barrel. The 6mm ARC may be a barrel burner too.

Django11

Just to be clear, varmint and predator hunting will be done at longer distances. Deer hunting will be done at 100 and in. I also have no problem with having a 20” bbl.

stagpanther

Go for it--you'll probably be fine as long as you pay attention to the ballistics capability of the bullet you choose. I've yet to know Hornady to be involved in the development of a loser cartridge.

bfoosh006

Compare barrel life between the 6.5 G and the 6MM ARC.. just food for thought.

If you get a 6.5G or ARC, be sure to buy a quality bolt. The thin walls at the lugs ( surrounding the case head rim ) have kind of concerned me.

I don't own either... but my 6.5CM fills that roll... so YMMV

EDIT... I did not realize the 6MM ARC operates at 52K PSI...

That alone makes me far more comfortable.

Last edited:

mxsailor803