Colt Python rear sight drift (2020)

PushPuller

Hey everyone. Before I begin, I’d like to state that I have no knowledge of how the Colt Python is assembled so bare with me if I put my foot in my mouth.

A few months back I stumbled upon a brand new Python while I was 686 shopping and picked it up with no remorse and much excitement. I ran 100 rounds through it, it shot phenomenally and the zero is on the money! But somehow fondling it for 30 minutes in the store and at the range I managed to completely miss that the rear sight is drifted almost completely to the left. Normally I wouldn’t sweat it because it’s so accurate but honestly it really annoys me now that I noticed and especially because I paid $1300 for something that now irritates me. So my question is. Should I contact Colt about it or am I being to anal? I don’t even know if there is anything they can do. I’m not sure how they install the barrel but could it be crossthreaded/pressed in crooked? Any ideas or suggestions?

NoSecondBest

It’s not a cheap gun.....take it back and have the dealer send it back to Colt for evaluation. I have some ideas as to what’s wrong with it, but it’s up to Colt to check it out and take care of it. No reputable manufacturer wants guns like this to end up in the buyers hands. Being new, they’ll take care of it and it shouldn’t cost you a penny.

shurshot

I have sent a gun back to Colt, although it took a long, long time to get anybody to answer the phone, once I did, they took care of me. Colt stands for quality... they will make it right.

Pahoo

Send it back

So my question is. Should I contact Colt about it or am I being to anal?
By my measure, you are not being anal and you would be in good company. I have spent a lot less on "new" firearms and have had no reservations, on sending it back. It's a new Colt not a used firearm regardless, it needs to be fixed. .... :)

Take a recheck, just to make sure you might have missed something. .... :confused:

Be Safe !!!

Altonv