Colt detective special. Question.

rob i

Hi-

This is my first post on the revolver forum. I am more of a semi auto guy.

I have an opportunity to purchase what appears to be an un fired colt detective special from a local gun shop that a friend of mine owns.

I know very little about revolvers. This colt has a Shroud (I think that is what its called) and has the chubby walnut grips that have no colt medallion on it.
It is insanely nice and there is no visible spin line on the cylinder. It's gorgeous.

The price is $600.

Are there certain years to stay away from? I am going to spin over there tonight to see if I can get a serial number.

If you guys think this is a good gun for a decent price, I will probably jump on it.

Thanks in advance-
Rob

KyJim

I am not an expert (there are a couple of members here who are). That is a fair price for a DS in that condition given today's market. Not great, but fair. You could probably get one with a bit of wear on it, but in good condition, for less. I would try to talk them down some, maybe have them eat the sales tax.

Colt had some labor issues in the early/mid 1980s with the result that some of their workmanship was up and down on some of their guns. To my knowledge, this did not cause functional problems with their guns. If the revolver looks nice and the action is smooth, it should be GTG. It doesn't sound like the grips are original which cuts down on the value for collectors but doesn't effect how it shoots, obviously.

BTW, the labor problem was one reason they went to a parkerized version of the Colt Agent, an alloy version of the Detective Special. The finish on mine is not as nice as a DS, but it still has the legendary smooth Colt double action trigger pull.

Colt_Agent_02.jpg

KyJim