Colt Commander 1911.........

Handgun Harry

I just bought my first gun yesterday.. well, first handgun at least, I've owned rifles before.

I am still new to the handgun scene. I was reading through my manual last night and have a few questions..

It mentioned series.. series 70, 80 and 90.. I cannot tell what "series" my gun is...... The gun is a Colt 1911 Combat Commander .45, slighty customized (came that way), bought new. The guys at the gun store said the model is not in production anymore. I cannot find any other markings on it other than "Colt Commander 1911, .45, Combat Commander".. and the serial number of course.. and a few little odd markings on it, small ones.

I paid $789 for it..new.. 3 of the employee's working at the gun store at the time were raving about the gun when I bought it.. and not like a Salesman rave.. like a fan rave.. I work with salesmen co-workers and I can tell the difference (I'd like to think!). Was this a fair price to pay for a gun like this?? Yeh I know it's a little late to ask since I already bought it, but I was just curious. It's a REALLY nice looking gun, again, already with a few customizations. Going to shoot it on Saturday. 8)

How many rounds should I put through it when I take it out for the first time? I bought 100 rounds of normal loads, and a box of hollows for home defense.

Thumper

Harry

Your gun is a series 80 combat commander. The series 90 designation applies to the Defender. Shoot your gun to death. Common practice dictates that the accepted break in period for your gun is between 100-500 rounds.

VictorLouis

Retract and lock the slide open. Look underneath it, just past the tail of the grip safety. Do you see a round plunger staring back at you? If so, then it has the Series 80 firing pin safety installed. As for the price, it sounds like full retail to me; but, I may be wrong.

Bubba