Colt Cobra

Fer

When I was a Kid one of my memories is going target shooting with my dad. I can remember a shiny snub nose revolver, I recall it was a six shot colt revolver with full luged ejector rod and a ramp front sight, gutter type rear sight and the grip where quite bigger than todays j frames, my dad says he boght the revo new about 30 years ago.
I am positive it was a colt Cobra, but just recemtly I was looking for a picture of it and found an ugly snub nose revolver with a exposed ejector rod that looks nothing like my dads revo.
Maybe one of you can post a pick of a colt cobra, and if I am mistaken on the model then what is the model of the revo I described.

Thank you,

FER

jrklaus

Fer, you may want to rename this thread to emphasize the question. Also, you might want to say approximately what year you're talking about.

I'm no Colt expert, but you may be describing a Colt Trooper? Python? I don't think the Lawman ever had a full-lug barrel, but it might have....

Dfariswheel knows a lot about Colts. If you Private Message him, I bet he'll have your answer right off the bat! Good luck, and let us know what you find out.

Doug.38PR

Fer,
What you described could very well be a Colt Cobra. The picture you recently saw could be a Cobra too. The picture you saw could have been a pre 1972 gun. Prior to that year I believe, and someone please correct me if I am wrong, Colt Detective Specials, Cobras, and Agents (all the same gun but different weight) had exposed ejector rods and smaller wooden grips. After 1972 they started making them will an ejector rod shroud (or full lug as you called it) up and a ramped sight until 1986 I think when they were discontinued. As for the large grips on your dads, I have a colt detective special with an exposed ejecotor rod but with large grips made in 1966:

DetectiveSpecial4.jpg