Cleaning time...

jg0001

I'm curious as too how much time people take to clean their semiautos... I simply referring to a once every few hundred rounds cleaning on a basic breakdown, nothing requiring any tools.

Myself, I tend to shoot both my guns at the range and then clean them both at once. I find that I usually spend about 90 minutes doing so, and in the process, I use an entire small package of cleaning squares (patches), though mostly b/c I use 2 at once.

My usual process is as follows. I'd appreciate any commentary or suggestions as I'm still rather new to this:

-disassembly-
(1) remove any magazines, ensure gun is empty
(2) disassemble gun into main components (again, nothing requiring tools)
-cleaning-
(3) clean INSIDE of barrel with patches on a rod
(4) clean outside of barrel (usually not too dirty except near the entry point)
(5) clean lower frame with well damped patches, paying special attention to the magazine well and the 'ramp' (sorry for my lack of terminology here) -- i.e. usually the dirtiest spot is right where the bullet is ignited, no surprise... I go over this area 2-3x or more until clean
(6) clean trigger area)
(7) clean slide, with special care placed on the ejection port and the muzzle hole
(8) clean guide rod
(9) clean spring (lightly, I just hold a patch in my palm and zip the spring through it a few times)
--lubing--
(10) LIGHTLY lube inside of barrel with patches on a rod
(11) lightly lube outside of barrel, including any latches (sorry again, don't know the technical terms)
(12) lightly lube mag well and lower frame (with a tiny drop around the hammer spring)
(13) with spring over guide rod, lube both
(14) run a DRY patch through the barrel
(15) lube slide rails immediately prior to assembly
(16) re-assemble
(17) very lightly lube exterior metal (as in barely)
(18) with the gun empty, rack the slide numerous times to work in the lube on the slide
(19) wipe down entire gun with a soft cloth, cleaning any excess fluids