Cezch Mauser VZ24. Anyone got one?

Jason Demond

Czech Mauser VZ24. Anyone got one?

I just ordered on from Century Arms, I got the one in VG shape. Did andyone get one from them and if so what kind of shape was it in? BTW this is my first time ordering on my C&R.

Last edited:

stinger

Mine is not from Century directly, but I got it from Big 5 Sporting Goods. I think that they get theirs from Century, but I am not certain.

The rifle is a beautiful shooter, although not great to look at, the blueing is mostly gone. It was full of cosmoline (grease) and was a bear to clean. The bore took about a million hours worth of work to make it shine, but the results are well worth the work.

I am able to get 2" groups at 100 yards and I know that the rifle is capable of so much better than that. I just wish that I was :)

I think you will enjoy your new purchase. Ammo is dirt cheap, although not incredibly accurate. I believe it was designed for 198 gr bullets and most of the milsurp is around 150 or so. S&B makes some pretty good 8X57JS that shoots rather well in my rifle.

Enjoy,

Stinger

Foxy

I have a VZ24. I bought it from a friend who had bought it from J&G. I enjoy shooting it greatly - ammunition is dirt cheap, and it's fun (if a bit painful after a while) to blast away with it.

It's been at least three years since my friend bought this thing, and it still oozes cosmoline from the stock after it's been out in the sun long enough, though. That's my only complaint with it.

Badger Arms

I take a rag to the range and just wipe the oil off the stock when it gets warm.... Let me tell you, IT GETS WARM! :D