CCW safe lubricant

xMINORxTHREATx

I know that sounds weird but I just had a realization.

When I go to the range, I always put a few extra drops of CLP on my gun. If it's my Ruger 10/22, I put half a bottle !!!! :D:D:D

I know that an improperly lubed gun is an unreliable gun. And I also know that CLP stains on your white shirt are permanent. :( and they draw unnecessary attention. :eek:

So my question is this, what kind of oil would you guys suggest. The only thing I have EVER used was CLP from Otis. The same kit that was issued to me in the Army. I'm about to run out of CLP and I'm starting to look for something that works well for CCW use. IE doesn't leave a lot of residue, or something where the "less is more" saying holds true.

Any suggestions?

I haven't paid much attention to cleaning supplies and chemicals, as I usually stick with what I'm used to, and I've been using CLP and my Otis kit for five years. I've heard a few people mention lithium grease, but can't remember a company name attached to it.

Vermonter

hoppes

I am not sure if I spelled it correctly but you know what I mean. I use all of their products and I never have an issue in regards to resedue.

Vermonter

xMINORxTHREATx

My Dad swears by Hoppes Number 9 or whatever number it is. lol

I will check out one of his guns next time I shoot with him and see if it feels as oily as mine does.

I use a light coating of Brian Enos' Slide Glide Lite on the rails of my carry pistol. Once applied, I simply wipe off any excess. You can wipe down the pistol with silicone cloth if you are concerned about corrosion. I leave the grips dry.