CCW & Lightning

mk86fcc

My wife witnessed three of her coworkers be struck by lightning Tuesday. (DOCSpanky - yes, it's the strike you're thinking of - the white Lumina sitting in the middle of everything was her's.) Thankfully, all are expected to recover fully. Got me thinking though. Given the amount of heat generated in a strike, not to mention the voltage potential, what's the likelihood of ammuntion cooking off? I normally carry in an IWB at about my 4:00 - if I survived the strike would I be picking S&W and Federal splinters out of my butt forever?

------------------
"...and he that hath no sword, let him sell his garment, and buy one."
Luke 22:36
"An armed society is a polite society."
Robert Heinlein
"Power corrupts. Absolute power - is kinda cool!"
Fred Reed

Kentucky Rifle

When I was in my 20's, I was a carpet salesman. One dark night I was trying to find a house on the outskirts of Louisville. The thunderstorm had just started. I didn't think too much about it. I found a pay phone, went in, and dropped my quarter in the slot. As I was dialing, a HUGE lightning bolt struck the pole that was right by the pay phone booth. Nearly blinded, I ran through the shower of burning splinters form the pole which were raining down upon me. I didn't stop at my car, but ran to the edge of the parking lot. Then I proceeded to feel myself ALL over, fully expecting to find SOME part of my body blown completely off. Luckily, there was no damage except for a strange burn on my index finger.
I now have a healthy respect for thunderstorms.

(Shudder!!)
Will

------------------
Mendacity is the system we live in.

George Hill

Staff Alumnus
If your hit by lightning directly enough to cook off your rounds - that 9mm that cut a ditch accross your right buttocks is the least of your concerns.

Glenn E. Meyer

I was a graduate student and walking across campus carrying a Fortran program in one of the boxes you used to get the punched cards in. Tells you my age!