CCW Clarification (Mall)

Nytelyte

In Ohio, is it legal to carry in a mall with a valid CCW permit? There are none of those dadblurned signs on the premise. I ask because I thought it was, but my friend, who is an "expert* (self proclaimed, and must always be taken with a grain of salt) persists that is is a "place of public gathering," and thus illegal. Even further, he spoke to a mall security guard who told him that they arrest ccw holders "all the time." :confused:
At this point I don't know what to think. I am fairly new to CCW, just got it about 1 mo ago. I don't think he is right, however it is enough to throw the shadow of doubt, and I really don't want problems. Whether or not I choose to follow the law or not is my choice, concealed means concealed, and I am not asking for the ok from anyone, but I want to know what, if anything, I am/would be getting into, be it right or wrong. I searched Packing.org and could not find anything. Pretty much, I want a sentence ... Ohio..mall...legal/illegal.

One step further, what about theaters?
Thanks in advance,
Nytelyte

ghostrider_tx

Howdy Nytelyte
You might try the following site and then if you have any questions contact the Attorney Generals office.http://www.ag.state.oh.us/le/prevention/pubs/cc_booklet20040319-72.pdf

Some states have some really bizarre carry laws. According to the above site;there is only 3 ways to carry concealed and loaded in an auto in Ohio. 1 On your person in a holster in PLAIN SIGHT. 2 Locked in a case in PLAIN SIGHT. 3 Locked in a glove box or trunk. REALLY strange laws.:barf: :confused:

Garand Illusion

Here is the summary from packing.org. Probably want to follow the links to read the law yourself.

Date updated: Jul 28, 2005 @ 11:15 pm

Sec. 2923.126. (B) … does not authorize the licensee to carry a firearm

A Police Station.
Sheriff’s Office
State Highway Patrol Station
Premises controlled by the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation,