CC on then DC/NoVA Metro?

jawper

Greetings all,

I will be relocating to the Northern Virginia area in the coming months from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. I am a former Virginia resident. I formerly held a Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun in Virginia and currently hold a License to Carry here in Massachusetts. I plan to re-obtain a Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun when I arrive in Virginia. I am trying to understand the whether I can carry while riding the Metrorail on the VA side of the river, and more generally the Metro Transit Police's view of armed citizens riding the Metrorail.

Assuming that I am carrying a firearm in compliance with state and local laws and am NOT riding the Metrorail into the District of Columbia, may I carry a concealed firearm on the Metrorail? Are there any special consideration of which I should be aware? Any information you might provide would be highly appreciated.

Thanks!

As best as I can determine, no, it's against system rules, but I just don't know how much that means.

But those rules were developed before VA had generally accessible CCW, and since Metro is a quasi-governmental body, I would think that they would need approval of the sponsoring governments before they could ban handguns on the trains.

Me? I rarely ride Metro,but when I do, I'm armed.

Mike in VA

jawper -

AFAIK, IIRC, I never seen a Metro station posted with 'No Guns' or any sort of metal detector, so I suspect that you're OK in VA, bearing in miind that 'concealed' means just that (remember, you're riding in Fairfax Co, which is full of bedwetting bliss-ninnies who might herniate themselves if they saw a weapon). Metro cops' attitude on armed citizen, I don't know, but again, what they don't know can't hurt you. you might poke around here: http://www.smartraveler.com/wdc/ to get the poop on Metro