Cav-ARMs lower hunting rifle build--Anyone speaks AR15-ese?

doofus47

I love a new DIY rifle project. So I picked up a Cav-Arms lower and have a lower kit and how-to DVD on the way from Brnnnnlls. That part will take care of itself sooner or later. It's my first build, I"m not going to rush it.

But I saw this on the CA lower instruction sheet:
takes carbine buffer and carbine buffer spring.

Whoa! I was hoping to put an 18 or 20 inch barrel on this and use it for a lightweight hunting rifle in 6.8 or 6.5.
Am I stuck using only 16" barrels? Not that there is anything wrong with that, but that wasn't my goal. Is my rifle pre-scuttled b/c I bought the wrong lower?

No such thing as Too-much-info. Feel free to chime in with any AR15 hunting rifle stories if they seem related.

(Please don't start a 6.8/6.5 debate; I like them both for different reasons and I will probably own both uppers at some point.)

thesheepdog

....Demigod.....Bartholomew....y'all handle this one. :D

I dont' have much experience with "which" buffer tube allows for "which" barrel.

bedlamite

You can put a 20" barrel on it, the carbine spring is stiffer than the rifle spring and will work fine with a rifle length gas system. However, with a Cav Arms lower I'd keep the rest of the gun as light as possible, which means a 16" lightweight profile barrel. Longer barrels can help a 6.5 but are not really necessary with a 6.8. I've even considered getting a stamp and a 12" barrel for mine.

jmorris

No, you can use any barrel length you just need the carbine buffer and carbine buffer spring. I did have to modify the trigger groups when I put together my cav lowers. They also feel awkward with 20” barrels because they are so front heavy. Despite being plastic they hold up well I have ran one of mine quite a bit with a 458 socom upper and it’s still tight.

demigod

You'll have to experiment with what buffer works best for your specific barrel/gas port... I'd probably start with an H or an H2.