Casters, Time to Have Your Brains Picked on the Basics...

Of all the reloading threads that's been going on in the past few months, I haven't seen a whole heckuva lot of casting ones. I've been getting ready to start casting for the first time. I've done some searching here and on a couple of other boards to get my feet wet. Here are some basic questions that I've been trying to draw a consensus...

1. Quite a few different brands of molds out there. I've been seeing a trend of opinions that almost mirror dies; everybody swears by one brand and the other is garbage. I was veering away from Lee at first, but I'm not convinced that they're really that bad of molds. I'm sure Saecos are great and all. But since I'm just starting out, I thought they would suffice. Are Lee molds that much of a headache?

2. I'll be buying a turkey fryer and a cast iron dutch oven for smelting. Any reason why this combo should be different? I thought about using a pan, but I was told that a dutch oven would be easier to use in the smelting process.

3. Linotype or Tin/Antimony? Most of my new stash of lead is in the form of WW, but I do have some pure lead. Was thinking to just do the solder trick, but wanted to see which avenue is best. I'm casting for pistol bullets only.

More questions to follow...

jamaica

bulletcast.jpg

I have been casting for many years. My set up is very simple. What you don't see in the picture is a camp stove for heat, and the Lyman 4500 sizer and lubricator. This is bare bones, but does the job for what bullets I need.

I am using wheel weights with a bit of solder added. Maybe half a pound of solder in that pot. I prefer the Lyman molds. Actually, I have never used another brand, but have no reason to want to. Lyman molds are great.

I just melt wheel weights a potful at a time rather than smelting a whole bucketful, skim and flux, add a little tin and cast bullets.

Do be very careful. Wear gloves and safety glasses and work outside. Hot lead is dangerous.