Cartridge Collecting

markm_04

I am just beginning to get into collecting firearm cartridges and was curious if anyone here collects cartridges? This is something I have been interested in for quite some time, but have just recently started a small collection. I am mainly interested in American cartridges and odd balls of course but I am sure that field will continue to expand along with my knowledge of cartridges.

Does anyone have any suggestions on reference books for cartridge collecting or tips/advice on where to look for cartridges? Those of you that do collect cartridges, how when and what did you start with?

I am always trying to expand my knowledge and welcome the opportunity to discuss the hobby of cartridge collecting with anyone.

Smoke & Recoil

And when you pick up Cartridges Of The World, don't get hung up in the
unknown cartridge measurement section when you have shells with out
head stamps. Their are soooooo many cartridges near identical but very
differing in measurements.

kilimanjaro

I collect full vintage boxes, so no thousands for me, but I've seen some pretty big collections of single rounds. If you get into it, storage will be an issue in short order. Best cabinet I've seen is an antique armoir with flat drawers like a dehydrator installed. Room for thousands. Could do the same with an obsolete entertainment center. Saw one setup where bakery trays were used as the shelves, padded cloth covered the tray bottoms, looked alright.

Gunfixr

Another vote for cartridges of the world.
I used to dabble in it, in my late teens and early 20s.
Haven't done anything with it in over 25 yrs.
Mostly single rounds, some boxes of rounds.
It's all just sitting in a box around here somewhere, as I just really don't know what exactly to do with it.

jonnyc

COTW is really a basic book, with limited info and more than a few generalities and errors. While it is a good start, you will want to move past it.
Visit the website of the IAA: