Carry a Pistol ??

C7AR15

I will start off by stating that I have no military experience at all, none, zip, zero, zilch.

If you were in the Army, would you prefer to carry a Pistol (with an extra mag) or would you rather just carry your service rifle M4 with 2 or 3 extra mags of ammunition ??

I think I would be ditching the pistol in favour of more ammo. IMHO
( I don't know what the army dictates you carry )

What would you opt for ??

PS I would keep the Ka - Bar.

SIGSHR

Depends on your duty position. For a front line infantryman a pistol is really not that useful, for someone "in the rear with the gear" and whose hands are often full performing other duties, the pistol makes more sense. The M-1 Carbine was introduced for that reason. More punch and range than the pistol but less cumbersome than the rifle.

44 AMP

Staff
What would you opt for ??

Simply put, IT DOES NOT MATTER.

You will NOT have a choice. Your weapon WILL be what ever the TO&E says is should be. (Table of Organization & Equipment).

Your assigned duty will determine what weapon you are issued. YOU DON'T GET TO CHOOSE.

There is some flexibility in active combat, and smart commanders allow their troops some leeway, but outside of that, you will be issued a weapon, and that is the ONLY weapon you are authorized to carry.

If you are issued a rifle, carrying a handgun as well (and a private one, at that) is against regulations. As I mentioned, smart CO's will "not notice" in combat, but outside of that, you could get in trouble, even face charges, if the CO is a strict "by the book" type.

"Special operators" might get a choice, regular grunts don't.

Sevens

I also have zero military experience. My hat is off to those who do.