Cabela's vs Bass Pro

riverrat66

I've been a long time customer of Cabela's and this week for the first time I visited one of their stores in person (Hamburg, Pa.). I was there for two days and absolutely overwhelmed at all the stuff they had on display, everything in their catalog and more!
I've seen Bass Pro catalogs but have never purchased anything from them. There has been talk of a Bass Pro being built here in town in the next couple of years but I'm beginning to think that will never happen as they've been negotiating for over two years and are no closer now then when they started talking 2 years ago.
My question is, Which store do you prefer and why? Cabela's or Bass Pro

SaltySteve

I'm a Bass Pro fan and buy quite a lot of stuff from them. Quite a selection. There have been going through the same process here for two years also. I think they finally jumped through enough hoops with the concerned citizens and will be allowed to break ground this summer. I love digging in their catalogs but there's nothing like going in a door and touching the merchandise. Every winter I purchase all my fishing supplies for the year in 1 shipment. their prices aren't a lot lower then Academy but they always have everything in stock. Thats more than I can say about the other stores here.

stellarpod

We've had a Bass Pro here in Oklahoma City for three years or so. I personally advocate patronizing the smaller local shops whenever possible. However, Bass Pro does has a wider selection on many shooting/hunting related items.

That being said, I prefer Cabela's to Bass Pro as I believe they offer a broader still inventory - more hunting/camping, less fishing gear. Also, I believe their Cabela's label items are superior in quality and variety to Bass Pro's Redhead label.

stellarpod

mar450lin