C&R Rifles.....Why Is It?

cslinger

How come the M1 Carbine is not a C&R rifle. Hasn't it been 50 years since they were designed? How about a Garand.

Not a rifle question but don't want to start another thread, how about the fact that both East German and Russian Makarovs are C&R elligible but not the Bulgarian....huh? Shakes head and utters "I'm so confused."

I am new to this C&R thing, so just beat me with a stick if these are stupid questions.

Kharn

Any firearm that was made over 50 years ago (determined by checking serial number) is C&R.

Kharn

kptaylor

Some of the issues you raise have to do with date of manufacture. The Bulgarian Maks are newer production, so they are not C&R eligible. Same deal with newer production Garands or M1 carbine.

Actual manufacture date of greater than 50 years is C&R, in general.

Hkmp5sd

The original M1 Carbine and M1 Garand are both on the C&R list. C&R guns are all firearms made over 50 years ago or firearms that have been specifically added to the C&R list. This is how you find some versions of the same gun on the list and some not. This is because the versions listed were added because someone applied to ATF and proved they were collectible and ATF agreed.

cslinger

So if I understand correctly

We are not talking about the date of original design or first manufacturer but the actual build date of the individual rifle.

For example they made M1 carbines for a very long time. One with an early serial number might be C&R eligible because that particular gun was made 50 years or more ago. A newer gun will not be eligible because that particular gun may have only been made 42 years ago or something to that effect?

Am I grasping this?

Chris

cslinger

One more thing....

What about Frankenguns. Those firearms that do not have matching numbers. Using the M1 Carbine example. What if it has parts with completely different serial numbers ranging from 50 years old to 20 years old.

Are we just talking about the receiver?