Buying a new air rifle

hogdogs

Staff In Memoriam
While I am no pro, I am fond of quality. I also try to do business with companies who manufacture in nations known for both quality workmanship and fair employment practices. For air rifles I would only buy guns made in the USA, or Spain and other European countries. I tend to stay away from turkish as well since they don't tend to be quite as ethical for workers and inconsistent quality at times... So in your case, of the 2 you mention I go with the rws, being german and from a reputable company. Have you also looked at the .22 offerings of Gamo?
Brent

hunter33

I'm trying to somewhat stay under 250. So beeman is kinda out of the question. Hogdog pacifically what gamo air rifle where you referring to? I'm a big fan of gamo and own one of their rifles.

NWCP

I use a RWS 350 Magnum for small game and varmint with great success. It's my second RWS. I sold my Model 34 in order to get the 350. Better range and power. JMHO

pbrktrt

Hunter, before you give up on the .177 try some of the Predator pellets. i think you'll be amazed at the results on critters.

Skans

I'm going to be the "odd duck" here making a recomendation that you look at a particular chinese made air-rifle: XISICO XS-B21/22 price: $114.95http://bestairgun.stores.yahoo.net/xsb21.html

I own this rifle in .22. It is a side-cocker (not top-break or underleaver). It is essentially a clone of the RWS 48...with some neat differences. I almost purchased the much more expensive RWS 48, until I found out that it had a plastic trigger. I knew about the XS-B21 and did quite a bit of research into the differences between these two guns. I discovered that the XS-B21 had a milled, all steel, adjustable trigger-fire control parts.