Buy an FAL???

model70fan

I've seen a lot about FALs recently and have always kind of wanted one but never talked myself into it. How accurate are they out to say 500 yds? Or are they better to keep iron sighted or red dotted? How much does a new one go for? I have no experience with FALs, I have a lot of bolt guns, handguns, shotguns, 4 ARs (3 in 5.56, 1 in .308), etc... I just thought an FAL would be a good addition to my collection, so please try to convince me:D Tell me what I need to know about them if you would be so kind, and again, pleeeeeease convince me to go buy one.

chris in va

The only knowledge I have about a FAL is my friend's. He got it last year for around $1200. Nothing terribly fancy, and he ended up getting extra doodads for it like muzzle brake and a different grip.

Before trying it out for the first time, we stopped by the local gun store and picked up about 250 rounds of 308. It came to around $175!

So for two solid hours, he pumped all that ammo down his constantly malfunctioning $1200 rifle trying to get the gas system dialed in. We never did get it to cycle reliably.

Hey, maybe people really like the gun. Personally I can think of a hundred other ways to spend that kind of cash.

HorseSoldier

I just thought an FAL would be a good addition to my collection

It's a classic design, and any gun collection is enriched by having one (or more) of them.

Tell me what I need to know about them if you would be so kind, and again,

Buy one from DSA as a starter, if the price isn't a deal breaker (prices tend to be similar to the cost of M14 clones -- I think DSA's lowest MSRP is around $1200). They make them here in the US, and do the job right.