Bushmaster Varminter or Rock River Varmint model

Barn Dog

I am new to ARs and am looking at the the following two rifles:

Bushmaster "Varminter":
http://www.bushmaster.com/shopping/weapons/lr-24v.asp

Rock River "Varmint" model:
http://www.rockriverarms.com/rra_varmint.htm

I'm looking for good accuracy from a stock gun, no desire to build and can't spend more than $950. I know these do not have chrome lined bores but that does not matter to me for the amount that I shoot. My understanding from the companies is that both can safely shoot 5.66 mil spec ammo and .223, so no problem with ammo cost. I also don't do any CQB stuff or competition - I'm just a weekend paper shooter who wants something as accurate as possible out of the box.

Pluses/minuses/differences so far as I know or perceive: BM barrel is 4150 steel vs 4140 for the RR. The BM costs a little more. RR might have a slightly better finish. Twist rates are slightly different, 1:9 for BM and 1:8 for RR. BM also throws in mini-risers and a hard case, not a big deal but a nice touch. BM barrel is fluted, looks cool and would help with heat dissipation.

For those of you that may own one or the other (or both), could you tell me of your likes and dislikes on these or which one you think is the better of the two, disregarding cost? Like most, I don't want to make a $1K mistake. Your opinions & input are appreciated. Regards, Barn.

Last edited:

Steve Smith

I have plenty of experience with both. Neither would be a mistake, and I would say that both are equal in accuracy potential.

The only pros/cons: RRA will be a bit cheaper. Bushy will have a lifetime warrantee (or a year?) Doubtful that you will need it though.

Barn Dog

Thanks Steve. I called Bushmaster on the warranty, it is one year but the guy I talked with said they work with you if they can depending on what the problem might be.