building an AR15 - questions

bk40

After seeing a post at another forum (the ar15.com spin-off) I emailed Gunsmoke www.gunsmoke-inc.com about their
kits. Heres their reply:

We have 16" & 20" weapons kits
post ban, 475.00 Del. We also have M4 weapons kits. The M4 barrels
are 14-1/2 " and have muzzle
brakes installed to make them 16"
legal. $495.00ea. Kits contain all parts to complete weapon less
stripped lower.

We have PWA AR15 stripped lowers
for $115.00 ea. Need a FFL.
Licence to ship to. All you need
is a couple of small punches to
assemble lower. We have a US.
marine corps tec. manual to help
you, $6.00 ea. Thank you, Gunsmoke Ent.

I'm fairly new to AR's. The only
one I own is a Bushmaster Shorty
AK, purchased about a year ago.

From Gunsmokes reply, it looks
like I could build a 20" version
for ~$590.

My questions.
1.) How good a quality finished
project would I have assembling
their kits? Would it be comparable to my BM, which has been 100%
reliable and fairly accurate?

2.) How difficult is it really to properly assemble an AR kit rifle? I've got the punches and other gunsmithing tools... and have a good bit of experience completely assembling/dissaembling 1911 pistols.

3.) With the help of the manual and tools they mention, is that all I really need to build this?

4.) Do these kits really have every single part I need for a complete rifle

5.) I saw Bushmaster stripped lowers advertised for $165. Better quality than PWA?

Any thoughts or suggestions welcomed - Thanks in advance.

------------------
BKs Pistol Pages

swampyMO

bk40,

I built my first AR-15 from a Model 1 Sales kit on an ASA lower last summer. At the time I received my kit, I'd never even SEEN the insides of an AR before. Took about 2 hours to do full assembly. Used the simple instructions in a book I'd bought called "Build Your Own AR15" by Duncan Long (see Books & Manuals section on AR15.com).