building a wildcat

MrGee

if this is the rite place to post, i'll get rite to it ... i have a 700 remington receiver 243/308 boltface an would like to build something in the area of 25/308 AI for target an varmit even 'maybe' deer... where to start ? maybe with a barrel maker or a gun smith..? i have never done this before an could use lots of advice.. as for my first thoughts i'd like it to be a heavy barrel of a sort, maybe a fast twist like 1-8 or 9, to carry a heavy bullet like 117gr. or more... with the 243/308 case being blown out to Ackley, it will probably have a shorter neck, so the throught should not be to long.. is what i have thought about so far .. but where/how to start the project

also i've found a place to get dies for a 25souper.. wondering if these dies can be cut to match the said AI chamber after fire forming the cases?
i guess i would have to cut both fl an the neck sizer ?

so much to think about.. maybe some of you have gone threw the process
any recomendations on smittys or whatever input would be a help
Thanks...

James K

Member In Memoriam
The idea of having one's very own wildcat cartridge is like the idea of owning a private jet, appealing, but not always realistic. Here is what you need.

First you need to determine the caliber and twist, as well as weight and contour, so you can order a barrel.

Next, you need chambering reamers (rougher and finisher) for the odd size, again not easy to get and usually costly.

You may need headspace gauges; the .25 Souper is just a necked down .308, so .308 gauges would work, but an AI version would require custom gauges, again high dollar items. (For a one-time job, you may not need gauges, since you determine what the correct headspace is as you ream the barrel.)

Then, since you can't buy factory ammo, you have to reload, which means buying custom loading dies, also costly.