BT-99 Shotgun

Bullrock

I started shooting trap about 3 months ago with a small Winchester pump. Bad idea. For the past month I have been shooting with a Winchester SX2. There is no known shell catcher for the Winchester until April, and that damn rubber band is driving me crazy.

One of the members of the trap club showed me his BT-99 today. I liked the feel of the gun (I didn't have a chance to shoot it). I also liked the simplicity. Put a shell in, shoot, take the shell out. In checking with my dealer the current conventional BT-99 comes with a fixed full choke and I can purchase new for about $1,200.00. I can't afford a Beretta or anything fancy.

I want this to be my LAST shotgun. I'm too old to become a trap shooting champion. Can anyone tell me if this is a good decision and if the price is right.

Much Obliged

kudu

That's about the going price, maybe a bit high. You may want to check at Jaquas http://www.jaquas.com/gunlist/Search.asp, or http://www.gunbroker.com

You may want to check into a used or even new Remington 870 Trap gun., again Gunbroker.com or jaquas. Maybe you will shoot trap doubles sometime, it's a blast. Go to Jaquas and select Trap from the catagories list and 12ga from the calibers list and what brand you want.

NGP58

Bullrock, I see you've found your way to the BT99. Now your hooked :D I replied to an earlier post of yours that I bought a BT99 Stainless 32" barell angle ported with Browning hardcase for $950.00 about four years ago. It also has an adjustable buttstock and Invictor Plus chokes. $1,200.00 for a standard model dosen't sound too bad. Have you asked your gunshop to try to find you a good used one for less? They're an excellent gun I love mine and don't plan to sell it. I know several people who want to be "first in line" if I ever do. You know that if you do buy one you're still going to need another gun for "doubles". Enjoy!! Norm P.

Bullrock

Ngp58