Browning BDA 45

sailskidrive

Anyone out there have a heal release Sig P220 imported as Browning BDA?

I have one that is pretty close to new in the box (circa 1978) and I'm trying to figure out if it is something I should shoot or stash in the back of the safe for the kid some day.

carguychris

^^^ +1. Here's my thoughts.

If the idea is to give him/her a really nice gun that's somewhat unusual, IMHO this is a good candidate, go for it.

OTOH if the idea is to give him/her a high-dollar collector's item, IMHO you're barking up the wrong tree. IMHO it's unlikely that any standard-production late 70s / early 80s SIG, badged as a Browning or not, is going to appreciate in value within the next several decades at a rate that significantly exceeds the general rate of inflation. (A P210 would be a possible exception, but this gun is high-end and legitimately rare- a description that I don't think applies to a heel-release P220, although YMMV, I'm not an expert.)

Run a search for the word "investment" in the General Discussion subforum and you can read all sorts of back-and-forth debate on this topic; let's not rehash it all here.

Last edited:

tmlynch

I have one I bought used, in nowhere near "new in box" condition. I shoot it as often as I can.

I vote a follows:
Shoot it!
Shoot it with the kid.
Give it to the kid later, with happy memories of shooting it Dad​

Regards,
Tom

carguychris

^^^ +1 tmlynch. :)

Got a chance to look at the Blue Book this morning (32nd ed, i.e. the previous one). It indicates that BDA .45 values are somewhat lower than the SIG-badged versions, by ~$100 in LNIB condition. It says nothing about the heel release, either for the P220 or the BDA.

tmlynch

SIG did sell the same configuration in the US for a while before they went to the thumb mag release that is preferred here. As a result, I have always viewed my BDA as an undervalued SIG 220 European.

All the quality without all the price.

Tom

TimW77

Best idea yet...

"Shoot it!