Bolt carrier locking back on loaded mag.

jetinteriorguy

I had a weird experience today. I was working up a load in my PSA AR10 in 6.5 CM and the BCG kept locking back even though there was still cartridges in the magazine. I’m not an AR expert but have logged well over 5000 rounds in various AR’s over the years and in this particular rifle at least 500 rounds and have never had this happen. This is a Gen II rifle with a Geiselle two stage trigger. What in the world would cause this to happen? It did this from the starting load all the way up to the max load.

stagpanther

Creedmoor is a tricky bird in an AR--does it happen no matter what magazine you use? My first guess would be a pitching/tilt of the magazine follower. I usually trim back the feed lips on all my magazines that I use with the creedmoors. Related to this--are you sure the bolt is locking all the way back--or catching on a cartridge?

Last edited:

jetinteriorguy

I figured it out. The spring is either missing or broken on the bolt release and it’s just flopping loose. I’m going to remove it today and fix it. I know it can’t just fall out and being broken seems pretty unlikely, but if it was just plain missing from the start seems pretty weird that it took this long to malfunction.

jetinteriorguy

I removed the bolt catch, and the spring and little plunger are still in there but they are jammed in too far. The spring still has some action to it but it only protrudes so far then it sticks. I sprayed some penetrating oil in to see if it will shake loose but nothing happening so far. I’m sure open to ideas on getting this out.

Last edited:

jetinteriorguy