Blackhawk Info?

FiveFeezy

A friend of a friend is looking to trade his Blackhawk in 44 mag for my Glock 30. I was wondering if anybody could give me their thoughts on this and maybe some things to look out for when checking the Blackhawk out. I don't know what barrel length or finish it is in.

The reason I am considering the trade is that I am getting more into hunting and a 44 might be kind of nice for a sidearm. I don't have much use for the Glock 30 since I can't carry and I have enough home protection already. On the other hand I already have a GP100 in .357 for a hunting sidearm too.

So I am wondering what is more valuable between a 2 and 3 screw model? I also have heard something about flattop blackhawks and was wondering what that meant?

Thanks for all of the help.

larryf1952

I'm no Blackhawk expert, as are some of the fine folks on this forum, so I'm sure that they'll chime in with more information. But, I have 2 .45 Colt Blackhawks of mid '90's manufacture. As I understand it, the "3 screw" guns were of the 1st version Blackhawk, whereas this gun did not have the later transfer bar ignition system, which was introduced with the "New Model" Blackhawks ("2 screw" guns). In other words, the 3 screw guns were not safe to carry with 6 loaded rounds in the gun, as the hammer rested on one of the cartridges, ala the Colt SAA. I also believe that the term "flattop" comes from the early guns, and references the shape of the top strap, most specifically, the area around the rear sight. The flattop frames were "flat" all the way back to the sight, whereas the New Model Blackhawks have a bevel and raised portion on either side of the rear sight. Personally, I like the New Model better than the older 2 screw, flattop guns. Chances are, the gun you're considering is the New Model Blackhawk, as they were introduced in 1973.