Best Full-Size 9mm

Larry C.

Howdy,

Given the low,low price of 9mm ammo, I'm going to be acquiring a 9mm Semi-Auto this Spring. I'm excited about such an affordable self-defense/plinking round. It's unlikely I'd use this for CCW at this time. This weapon is more for fun and outdoor range practice; sort of what I used my Pythons for in the past.
I'm not going to start a fight and ask for "The BEST 9mm" despite my thread title. I am asking for your input as to the best 9mm (Full-Size) Semi-Autos out there. I mean plural, I won't try to put you on the spot and say "single best". Personally, I don't care for Glock triggers, but that's MY problem; I respect the fact that they are good and reliable. So Glocks are out.
Money is no object here! I'll pay upwards of $1,000 for an accurate, reliable and rugged Semi-Auto.
I'm interested to hear about your experiences with the various pistols out there. I have little experience with Semi-Autos, mostly revolvers. My SA 1911 is great so far, but fires the costly .45 ACP (yes, I know it's a proven manstopper, no argument). Thanks in advance, and please I'm looking for a informed opinions and observations, not trying to start a fight.

Respectfully,
Larry C. :)

chris in va

If you like the 1911, why not get a 9mm version?

Otherwise I've had a lot of good times with my CZ 75. Trigger takes some breaking in and a lighter hammer spring is nice but I think you'd like them.

Gonzo_308

If you like your 45 and are comfortable with the Single Action I'd recommend the Hi Power. They're very nice in the hand.

others that will meet your expectations are too numerous to name.

You need to narrow down what your likes and dislikes are.

frame mounted or slide mounted safety? decocker? on and on and on.

Some of my favorites in addition to the BHP are the SIG 226, HK USP, Beretta 92Fs, CZ's, Baby Eagle, there're more that I'd trust but this is a decent start.

DoItRight

If you like the 1911, why not get a 9mm version?