Best defense load for .22 Mag NAA-Mini Revolver

Para Bellum

Hi Folks,

I own a NAA .22 Mini Magnum with a 1 5/8 barrel.

My friends an I will test several miniguns (LCP, TPH, NAA Minimag) in wetpacks soon (and will post the results here). What would you suggest as best defense load für the NAA .22 Mini Magnum with a with a 1 5/8 barrel?

I assume a heavy bullet will perform best, but which one?

Thanks,
PB

bigghoss

I would think a FMJ to get necessary penetration but .22 mag is a poor choice for defense, especially the single action NAA.

IDAHOMIKE

I'm by no means an expert on this, but I would tend to think that the fmj would be the best choice. Of course, I suppose that out of a Mini, every bullet will act as an fmj, but I really don't know. My mind places penetration as an important factor so the fmj gets my vote.

Chesster

Wiith that short bbl, I would think there would not be much difference as long as the round goes "BANG". I use brand name 40gr HP in mine.

In my Pug the 30gr is way low, the 40 is still low, but the 45 is pretty close. If I could find some 50grain ammo that would be ideal I think.

Dynapoints don't always go off when I pull the trigger, CCI has been 100% reliable but the 40grn stuff tumbles out of my gun.

reppans

I have a new Wasp with only about 150 rounds and have only shot CCI and Winchesters. The 40grn CCI maxi mags are 100% reliable, but some tumbled occasionally. I do not recommend the Winchesters as they seem slightly thicker then the CCI.

This means that they do not seat well, or slide freely, in the chambers if it has any fouling whatsoever. I've had a few light primer strikes with them when the shell traveled the last 0.05" along with the hammer, effectively absorbing the ignition blow of the hammer.

I'm amazed at how accurate this little gun can be.... once you figure out how to hold it.

tulsamal

I'm amazed at how accurate this little gun can be.... once you figure out how to hold it.